Manchester City Is 2019 Premier League Champions

Manchester City beat Brighton and Hove Albion 4-1 to win this year’s championship, one point ahead of Liverpool FC who also beat Wolves 2-0 on Sunday, 12th May, 2019.


The 2019 season of the English Premier League has come to an end. It was a palpitating and very entertaining season as the two top contenders kept the suspense into the final day of play.


Manchester City began today’s encounter with a timid but confident posture. Brighton even opened scores at the 26th minute through Murray with a fine header. Two minutes later, Kun Agüero got the equalizer, making it 1-1. While the Liverpool and Brighton supporters were hoping for the status quo to either be maintained or Brighton goes ahead, Laporte got the second goal for Manchester City at the 37th minute.


The second half of the defending Champions was more entertaining. Mahrez scored City’s third goal at the 63rd minute before Gundogan sealed their win with a superb free kick at the 72nd minute. Four goals to one was largely more than enough to hand the trophy to the Boys of Pep Guadiola.


Liverpool FC got a two nill win over Wolves but failed to win this year’s League title. Senegalese International, Sadio Mane scored a brace to join Mohammed Salah and Pierre Emerick Aubameyang on the top scorers chart this year. Liverpool FC are now hoping for consolation as they await Tottenham Hotspur in the UEFA Champions League Final.


The top four spots of the English Premier League have now been sealed. Chelsea FC and Tottenham Hotspur are sure to play the Champions League next year as they finished 3rd and 4th respectively. Arsenal FC who finished 5th are sure to play the UEFA Europa League next, should they fail to win this final year's Europa League Final against Chelsea FC. Manchester United finished 6th and will play the qualifiers for the Europa League next year.




Isaac Ngong Kum

Football Reporter


Comments (0)

Your Name *

Your E-Mail *

Your Comments*